Video Lessons

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by trumpettrax, Jul 30, 2010.

1. trumpettrax

trumpettrax Piano User

Mar 18, 2006
    Texas
    Hey All,

I was just wanting to get your take on video trumpet lessons. I've been talking to a guy (to remain namless at this point) who said he would do lessons via video chat. 1. Has anyone done that? 2. How good could it be? How effective is this type of lesson. I've never done it before and I'm used to physical interface with the teacher.

Just kind of concerned.

Trax

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    We are in the 21st century. I am just not convinced that a teacher hears and sees enough with the limited bandwidth.

Not a lesson goes by where I don't visualize something important that I've seen by contact. Neck, posture, horn angle, breathing are just a couple of things. Also th emotional state when the student walks in tells me alot. I have 2 girls in puberty as students and you see/feel everything that they liked or hated in the last day or so.

Most of my teaching involves me playing first and the students playing back. That way we do not need to talk about sound, body use or breathing as much. They see it and mimic it. This does not work on camera. Trumpet sound out of a speaker does not convey the real thing to the mind.

I am convinced that the "relationship" is severely comprimised when the internet is in the way. As practice control (which for many students/teachers is all that is possible) I guess it can work.

3. Mamba21500

Mamba21500 Piano User

Feb 26, 2009