Walking in a trumpet wonderland?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Overtones, Dec 12, 2010.

1. Overtones

Overtones New Friend

Oct 24, 2010
    I am a beginner to the trumpet with music experience from guitar. I
    was thinking of taking my trumpet playing to the road, literally. About
    6 miles exactly through the country roads of small town NC even past
    a Strip Cafe, not bar because this county is dry. They say you should
    walk at least 5 miles a day to stay healthy and I am overweight. I
    figure it would be almost two hours of time just me, my trumpet,
    and the unchained killer dogs. Saying that I am even in enough shape
    to blow a trumpet and coordinated enough to walk while doing so.
    What should I play? I have the arban's and have ordered the arban
    manual from Eric Bolvin. I do know music theory and could hopefully
    could figure things out like scales, chords, and runs on trumpet while on walking. Maybe learn lesson 1 from EB's the arban manual and after I learn it play it while walking while trying to learn lesson 2. I am going to start tomorrow and will tell how it goes I doubt I have enough wind.

Last edited: Dec 12, 2010
  2. keehun

keehun Piano User

Feb 4, 2010
    Minnesota
    You may form seriously bad habits if you're learning the trumpet while moving... I mean you'll probably end up learning bad habits anyway like the rest of us but... Learning should be done in an environment where it's as easy as possible for you to get to know the instrument.

3. Ed Lee

Ed Lee Utimate User

Aug 16, 2009
    Jackson NC