Warburton for lead

Discussion in 'Mouthpieces / Mutes / Other' started by Trumpet1Ohio, Jan 14, 2006.

1. Trumpet1Ohio

Trumpet1Ohio Piano User

Jun 22, 2005
    Columbus, OH
    Hi,

I recently started playing a Warburton 5SV/5* when playing lead in my big band. Wanted something with a sharper inner bite on thr rim than the Schilke I've been playing. Anyone else use this piece or something similar. Do you think it's a good choice? Also, does anyone have experiewnce with the smaller "3" Warburton bottom?

Thanks
    Ken

2. londonhusker

londonhusker Guest

deleted

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 31, 2007
  3. tom turner

tom turner Mezzo Forte User

Oct 25, 2003
    Georgia, USA
    I LOVE the Warburton SYSTEM!

In my favorite sized Warburton tops I have virtually all size and shape cups for specific jobs.

I use different Warburton backbores to dial in the resistance for a specific trumpet/mouthpiece blow, as well as the specific sound needed for a job.

There's nothing NOT to like about a system so danged precise in what the changes allow one to accomplish!

Frankly, for lead I don't use my ES, S or SV tops . . . I LOVE the sound of the slightly larger "M" cup for a very rich lead sound. My ALWAYS backbore for lead jobs is the incredible new "Q" backbore they make. The "Q" backbore gives just the right extra tightness to interface properly for my specific trumpet, and the slots above the High G (over High C) are very specific using the Q. It truly makes it a little easier nailing the pitches with more accuracy.

Frankly, I also sometimes forget to remove the Q for non-lead gigs and rehearsals . . . for the sound down in the staff is rich enough on the Q for me to automatically compensate without thinking about it.

For legit jobs I usually reach for my #7 backbore . . . although besides the "Q" and #7, I also have 'em in #5, #6, #8 and #10 for trumpet.