Warm-up and then?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by commakozzi, May 21, 2008.

1. commakozzi

commakozzi Pianissimo User

Oct 30, 2007
    Georgia, USA
    I found it hard to really state what the topic of this thread would be in the subject line, but my question is this: how long do you typically go between your warm-up and your next session? I'm going to have to start working in an office Monday, Wednesday, and Friday coming soon, and then everyday in January. I can get a warm-up in before work, but then my next session would be lunch time five hours later! Since I've been working at home for the past two years, I've been able to do my warm-up and then rest for the same amount of time I had just played and then do my next session, and so on for the rest of the day. I'm not sure I like the idea of warming up and then resting for five hours before doing my next session. My next session is Clarke studies though, so maybe it's not so bad. Any thoughts?

2. wvtrumpet

wvtrumpet Pianissimo User

May 14, 2004
    West Virginia
    Doing an early morning warm up and then not practicing until four or five hours later is not really a bad thing. If I were in your shoes (and everyone is different), I would do my early morning warm up pushing my chops a bit towards the end of it. You might want to really expand up into the top part of your range once or twice, not pushing yourself to the point of being tired, but just maxing out a bit.

Then when you come back a few hours later do a light slur and start your Clarke studies. I would more than likely start with a Clarke study that begins around second line G and expand upward and downward in an alternating fashion. Work both slurred and tongued.