Warmups

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by audwey11, Dec 22, 2015.

1. audwey11

audwey11 Pianissimo User

Dec 1, 2015
    Maine
    Hello!
    I am a freshman in high school and I would like to know what the best way to warm up is. In my band, we often do lip slurs, some long tones and a new scale based on the circle of fifths. What is the best method to use at home when I am practicing?

2. Dennis78

Dennis78 Fortissimo User

Feb 1, 2015
    Cincinnati
    Same thing you do at school

3. Msen

Msen Piano User

Dec 28, 2011
    I live in the Horn
    Nowadays, I'll play a melody with notes starting from E in the staff all the way down to F#.

I always start with long tones

4. trumpetsplus

trumpetsplus Fortissimo User

Jun 11, 2006
    South Salem, NY
    The most important thing in my opinion, is to have your lips set firmly together for the very first note you play. Then play through something like my "Reflections" exercise which starts on 2nd line G and expands to 2 octaves. Touch the extremes of your range, then you are done.

Anything that takes more then 5 minutes is practice - not warmup.

5. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia
    I've used Walter Moeck's warm up for years. It includes all the basic elements and a range exercise at the end.

6. Ed Lee

Ed Lee Utimate User

Aug 16, 2009
    Jackson NC
    For my warm-up, from G I begin a chromatic descent to a as low as I can and then an ascent to as high as I can, down and up over and over, introducing long notes, lip slurs and other variations as I go, such as speed. At a point of comfortable satisfaction my warm-up is over and such has no time criteria. I've had many times where I just quit and put my instrument back in its case until later. But later has come ... up to now ... but ...

7. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC