Well... this is... intresting...

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Mud, Jul 6, 2012.

1. Mud

Mud Pianissimo User

May 26, 2012
    Noblesville, IN
    Well, I am an incoming sophmore in high school, and this is my first year marching.
    We (the trumpet section) recruited 2 woodwinds to learn how to play trumpet due to the shortage of trumpets willing to march (we choose a very trumpetie song to march to), and I ended up teaching them how to play. Now, our section leader's parents like to go on vacation around marching time, so he is commonly gone the first and/or second week of marching. We decided, that when he is gone, this other guy was to be "fake section leader" until our actual section leader gets back, because he's the oldest trumpet (besides our section leader), and hes marched the longest etc.
    We come back, its our first week of marching. THe first day, the staff member in charge of the trumpet section pulls me aside, and tells me that until our section leader gets back, I am to be section leader. Remember this is my first year marching.
    Also, no one tells the other guy, that was supposed to be section leader, although I think the staff member did, so he was acting like section leader, and so was I, so I kind of thought that we were "sharing" the title section leader (although he was never present at the section leader meetings. Of course, stupid me, this never crosses my mind, being so busy trying to figure out how to read the drill and whatnot).