What are you working on? Why? How?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Shermy, Jul 19, 2007.

1. Shermy

Shermy Pianissimo User

Jan 24, 2005
    Hi All,

I just wanted to see if we could get some benefit out of seeing what each of us are working on, why we are currently working on it and how we are going about it.

Maybe we could come up with some best "practices" (pun definitely intended) on goal setting, efficient practice techniques, etc.

First off, let me explain my situation. I'm a comeback player in my late 30s. I started playing when I was in 4th grade (10 years old). During the summers while in high school, I played in a division I drum and bugle corps. I went to college and got a degree in music performance. While in college, I focused about 75% of the time on "legit" work and 25% on jazz. About 75% of the jazz work was big band jazz - not improvisation. I only started seriously listening to jazz when I was in college. After earning my undergrad degree, I went into the Marine Corps as a musician for 4 years. After that, I regrettably put my horn down for about 5 or 6 years. The first three years were spent back in college getting my MBA. After that I got a "regular" office job. Fortunately, my employer has its own Big Band, and my community also offers many other opportunities for me to play. I started playing again about 2 years before my 2 year old son was born (which caused me to have to stop) and am just now getting back to playing on a regular basis.

What I am working on: My jazz improvisation skills.

Why: I am working on them for multiple reasons. The first is to overcome what I consider to be a handicap. I've mainly been able to only improvise by ear. I have to live with a song over and over before I can effectively solo over the changes. The second is just to simply continue to improve my jazz vocabulary. Also, I have no real gigs lined up for the next month or two.