What comes before beginner?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by FredSuperNun, May 21, 2010.

1. FredSuperNun

FredSuperNun New Friend

May 21, 2010
    Wales
    I hope i'm posting in the right section, I considered posting in the Horns section but in the end I settled for here.

I'm a massive Ska fan who loves trumpet solo's but has never had the time or money to start learning an instrument. I'm 19 now and considering buying my first trumpet but have no idea what is best.

I have looked at several sites and guides but I live in a crappy little town in Wales so there aren't very many music shops to go browse in, which leaves an internet purchase. Does anyone have any reccomendations? My eventual aim is to be able to play along with my favourite ska songs (obviously a long way down the line), but this is kindo f hampered by the lack of an instrument :oops:

Oh and then comes the budget problem, being an unemployed student I can't really justify sinking more than £150 into an instrument i've never played before. So I am really lost on where to look and what to buy.

Thanks in advance :]
    Fred

2. guyclark

guyclark Piano User

Feb 28, 2008
    Los Gatos, CA
    HI, Fred!

Before beginner, I think would be "dreamer"! ;-)

Do you know any other trumpet/cornet players? Is there a Salvation Army church somewhere in your vicinity? They have many brass players in the church who might want to help you! (They may also want to recruit you for the church, but you might be able to deal with that later.)

I think at your stage, your best bet would be to talk to a trumpet playing friend/acquaintance/neighbor.

Good luck!!

Guy

3. FredSuperNun

FredSuperNun New Friend

May 21, 2010
    Wales
    thanks, I will ask around. I have a lot of musical friends but they all seem to have followed the generic guitar route which seems a little dull to me.

4. frankmike

frankmike Piano User

Dec 5, 2008
    theres only actually 2 choices to choose from