What do I have

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by JimSproat, Nov 8, 2010.

1. JimSproat

JimSproat New Friend

Nov 6, 2010
    I'm new to trumpets. I inherited this http://www.stat-sheet.com/trumpet1.jpg from my father-in-law. Can someone tell me what it is? It looks like a Picollo Trumpet but it only has three valves. The only marking is the word "Angels" on the bell.

2. Dragon98987

Dragon98987 Pianissimo User

Apr 20, 2010
    It looks like a pocket trumpet to me.

3. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia
    It looks like my pocket trumpet only silver-plated. Pretty sure that's what it is.

4. SteveB

SteveB Mezzo Piano User

Nov 15, 2008
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Definitely a pocket trumpet.

FYI, there are a number of piccolo trumpets with only three valves.

5. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA
    It's a pocket trumpet but with some very interesting features. The third valve slide that is operated with the thumb is pretty cool. Also, the second valve slide comes out of the left side of the valve. Without being able to see the other side, it's hard to tell how the other slides are configured. Do you have any history on it at all? How old it is? Where it came from???

But the real question is, "How does it play?" As you are new to the trumpet, you may not be able yet to fully assess its playing characteristics but a well-made pocket trumpet can be a serious player. So, it may well be worth your time to play is some and see how you get along with it.

Thanks for sharing.

6. SteveB

SteveB Mezzo Piano User

Nov 15, 2008
    Prescott Valley, AZ

That would make it an earlier model (pre-Amati water key) standard Jupiter pocket trumpet.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

For your viewing pleasure. :-)

[​IMG]

7. JimSproat

JimSproat New Friend

Nov 6, 2010