what do you think about cat anderson method?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by croatoa, Mar 9, 2008.

1. croatoa

croatoa New Friend

Feb 12, 2008
    I've tried to use it but it's very hard!!!!

2. tatakata

tatakata Mezzo Forte User

May 29, 2007
    i think it probably worked for cat anderson and not many other people

3. sdhinote

sdhinote Pianissimo User

Feb 3, 2006
    Palm Desert
    You might want to go to my webpage. I was a student of Cat's for 8 years and have just re-written his method so it is more understandable and accessable to players desiring a better upper register.

4. trpt2345

trpt2345 Mezzo Forte User

May 21, 2006
    Morelia, Mexico
    I got Cat's book thirty years ago but I found it unusable, sort of like Einstein's Relativity for the Layman. I'm not that curious about the teeth thing.

Michael McLaughlin

5. SpiritDCI08

SpiritDCI08 Piano User

Feb 11, 2009
    Fort Campbell, KY
    I've heard he's methods were weird. I'd buy one of his books...but I'd only buy it to read it, not play it. Some people just have weird techiniques that only work for them.

6. shawverjm

shawverjm New Friend

Jun 12, 2009
    I got the book about 2 weeks ago and I have found it to be pretty sweet. I haven't even gotten past the first lesson and I have seen in increase in all aspects of my playing. My range was at a good High G now I can find all the slots up to double c. Now I can't get the notes any louder than a mf so they're still not performance quality but just the fact I can now find the pitches is exciting in my opinion.

In addition to range I noticed my intonation was more consistently in tune and a big full tone on my small Allen Vizzutti Yamaha mouthpiece.

I've tried out many different methods and this one is definitely helping me the most so far.