What do you think of this mp?

Discussion in 'Mouthpieces / Mutes / Other' started by orchestra_trumpet_star, Nov 3, 2005.

1. orchestra_trumpet_star

orchestra_trumpet_star New Friend

Nov 3, 2005
    hey all,
    i am new to the forum and am very excited to be apart of this great site...
    so i am a student-mostly orchestral player with some experience (from what I hear, a very high level for my age). I was reading up on new mouthpieces and am very interested in the bach screw rims. I currently play the yamaha 16C4-GP and like it but I feel that it is a little small now for my lips. I was wanting to piece together a 1X screw on rim with a 1 1/2B underpart (good idea or is a 1B better) with a schmidt style backbore (what number is this?), and a pretty open throat. I am not the biggest of guys yet and still have some growth in me. What size throat is a good idea (only 15 yrs old 5'9.5ish)? Thanks everyone!

PS I know it might sound crazy that I am wanting to go larger given my age and size, but I feel like it is worth a try...
    PPS Let me know if you need any more info to decide whether I am about to kill myself or if it is a good/safe idea...

2. BigBadWolf

BigBadWolf Piano User

Nov 30, 2004
    Los Angeles, CA
    the mouthpiece that you want will take a while to get. I would suggest that you try out a 1X or a 1C first, before going to the different underparts. Get acclimated to the rim to see if you like it. Ordering a custom piece through Bach will take anywhere from 6 to 9 months, so you would have time. Alternately, you can cut the rim off of the mouthpieces and have them pieced together (1x with the B underpart and opened throat and backbore). Incidentally, that option is probably cheaper too.

3. orchestra_trumpet_star

Nov 3, 2005
    i hear dillon music can do it within a week or so (?)... it would be interesting though...if i were to be able to do what # throat... 22 too big? 26 too small? and what number is tha schmidt backbore for bach?