What impact does Bore really have ?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Masterwannabe, Sep 26, 2009.

1. Masterwannabe

Masterwannabe Mezzo Piano User

Sep 11, 2009
    Colorado
    For fear of starting a thread that has been done before (I really could not find one) and of sounding ignorant, could some of you please give a general tutorial of the impact of the bore on playing and sound. For instance where on the horn is the bore measured? What is considered a large/medium/small bore? I have seen many comments on this site talking about bore as if we all knew just what it is.

:huh: If you don't know where you are going it doesn't matter how you get there!

2. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA
    I am not an expert on all aspects of bore topics but I will get you started. First the simple question - where is is measured? I have read that it is measured at the 2nd valve slide. However, even that description is not necessarily precise as some commenters say that it is measured on the slide itself and others on the pipe extending from the valve. Of course, the difference is the thickness of the pipe wall since the slide inserts inside the valve pipe. It would make the most sense to measure the inside of the slide since that is the actual diameter of the passageway for the air to pass.

As far as playablility, the most general consideration about bore is that the larger the bore, the more air is needed to "fill" it. However, it seems to me that there are other considerations, particularly the mouthpiece throat and backbore that will also affect the amount of air that can be moved, and the fact that the sound of the trumpet is not created by sheer velocity or mass of air, but rather by a vibrating standing wave in the air column so it is not like blowing through a straw vs blowing through a 1" pipe.