What instrument to use instead of voice

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by The Dutch Guy, Jun 3, 2009.

1. The Dutch Guy

The Dutch Guy Piano User

Sep 22, 2008
    Netherlands
    I'm planning on playing a LOT of songs where I replace the vocals by a music instrument. my question to you is: which instrument would you pick? (don't just say trumpet cause we're on a trumpet forum)

I've been playing the trumpet for about 12 years, but was wondering if another instrument would be more suited for that task. (flugel maybe? cornet? another brass instrument maybe? or woodwind?)

the songs are mostly classical / modern classical songs. (so NO rock ect.) (think Hayley Westenra, musical music ect. ) usually with female voice in the trumpets middle and high register.

I want everyones opinion!

2. Pseudonym

Pseudonym Pianissimo User

May 23, 2009
    Dallas
    Well, I'd say if it were performed by a deeper-voiced person, the Flugelhorn would be more of an appropriate choice as it's naturally got a darker sound. However that's not to say that a trumpet would not be able to do just as well.

It would really have to depend on the piece of music, and who you have heard it sung by.

3. ChopsGone

ChopsGone Forte User

Jan 26, 2009
    Northern California
    Go with the classics: viola, oboe, cor anglais.

4. The Dutch Guy

The Dutch Guy Piano User

Sep 22, 2008
    Netherlands

the kind of songs I want to do are for example:
    from les miserables: 'I dreamed a dream', 'castle on a cloud', 'on my own'
    from enya 'may it be' and another Lord of the Rings one 'into the west'
    search for Hayley Westenra for other examples. that's pretty much exacly what I want.

5. brassplayer

brassplayer Pianissimo User

May 6, 2009
    San Gabriel, CA
    Ah, now we're entering the realm of the orchestrator! :-)