What Piccolo Trumpet Should I Buy???

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ButlerBandgeek8, Apr 24, 2010.

1. ButlerBandgeek8

ButlerBandgeek8 New Friend

Jan 21, 2010
    Butler, Pa
    I'm in the market for a new pccolo trumpet. This is my first time buying a piccolo and I dont know what I should look for and which one I should buy on my limited budget. After researching piccolo trumpets, I have found 3 models that I'm interested in:

Bach 196 Stradivarius
    Getzen Eterna 940
    Yamaha 6810S

Right now, I'm thinking about the yamaha. Does anyone know what pic. I should buy? Does anyone own one of these models? Any suggestions?:play:

2. abtrumpet

abtrumpet Pianissimo User

Nov 14, 2009
    Schilke has some really nice piccs.

3. trumpetnick

trumpetnick Fortissimo User

Nov 16, 2005
    Vidin, Bulgaria
    That's going down to sound and feel that you are looking into. Bach has never been notorious for making good piccs, though I have read good things about their latest model, but never had the chance to play it. Schilke P5-4 is a well established and accepted picc - it is excellent, and if it feels right to you and your pocket - go for it. Otherwise I would go with the Yamaha, though I prefer better piccs with long bells.

4. Ed Kennedy

Ed Kennedy Forte User

Nov 18, 2006
    Isnt' the Bach 196 actually built by Stomvi with some bob Reeves tweaks? It should be pretty good. Stomvi used to be a good, but less expensive alternative to the Schilke. I can vouch for the Schilke P5-4, I've owned one since about 1980, It's the only horn I have left from that time. The P7-4 is making inroads now as well. Getzen is shipping theirs now with Blackburn leadpipes, a fix one used to have to do oneself. The Yamahas all started out as Schilke designs, although they have been through several generations of modification and refinement by now. Kanstul and the Kanstul-made F. Bessons are good as well.

5. trumpetnick

Nov 16, 2005
    Vidin, Bulgaria