What should I know to play in a church band with a choir?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Vstern, Jan 20, 2012.

1. Vstern

Vstern New Friend

Jul 25, 2010
    It's a protestant church. The choir has about 24 people. The band has a bassist, pianist and drummer. The choir director asked me to play this Sunday, but I don't want to until after at least one rehearsal. There is no rehearsal this week. I have no have experience playing with a choir and band. I know about 8 scales, they're all major.

2. veery715

veery715 Utimate User

Mar 6, 2007
    Ithaca NY
    You'll need to be able to read music - at least the hymnal. If the church has Bb music use that, otherwise you'll need to transpose the hymnal from C to Bb.

3. shooter

shooter Piano User

Jan 12, 2007
    VA
    Do you know they want you to play by music or is it possible that they will give you the freedom to do your own thing? I've been playing at church for over 20 years now and I haven't read a note yet. I pretty much just improvise by "filling in the gaps".

4. Chuck Cox

Chuck Cox Forte User

Oct 3, 2008
    Cary NC
    Politely tell the Choir Director that you need to rehearse before playing. There are a lot of Sundays left in the year.

5. cyber_shake

cyber_shake Mezzo Forte User

Jun 16, 2006
    The 'Nati
    if you are familiar with the songs, then you can practice playing the melody before hand and think through possible harmonies, riffs, etc. If you don't know them, but are familiar with transposing what you 'see' up a full step, then you will survive and will improve after future rehearsals ... but it you don't transpose or know the songs, I agree with chuck ... otherwise it could be a rough first experience. The Bible tells us to do whatever we do unto the Lord 'in excellence' ... so I don't believe 'winging it' is desirable or scriptural ... but if you feel 'forced' and can't back out for this week, just worship wholeheartedly.

6. Dave Mickley

Dave Mickley Forte User