What should I look for?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by FLYBYU44, Dec 14, 2007.

1. FLYBYU44

FLYBYU44 New Friend

Nov 30, 2007
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    I posted a few weeks ago in the Introductions part of the forum here. Basically I'm looking to learn how to play the trumpet, on my own, I'll be wanting to buy a trumpet sometime in the new year, but I want to research this some first. Anyway, I wanted to know as a total beginner to instuments and music (I played piano in high school for a bit) what should I get for a trumpet. Can anyone recommend a good beginner model that is cheaper in price but not quality? Thanks for any helps guys and gals.

2. jazz9

jazz9 Piano User

Dec 5, 2007
    Chilhowie, VA
    Bach is a very good brand for any level in my opinion, but you could get a hefty price tag with a good one. I started out on a Bach, and it was served me very well. I have heard that Shilke and B&S are very good brands. Kings are usually good for beginning models. Hope this helps.

3. jazz9

jazz9 Piano User

Dec 5, 2007
    Chilhowie, VA
    By the way, I payed about $800-900 for my Bach beginner model.

4. Patric_Bernard

Patric_Bernard Forte User

Oct 25, 2007
    California
    I would also reccomend getting some kind of teacher. THe beggining is almost as important as keeping playing. You should get a teacher for maybe about 3 or 4 months just to get you started off stong, and then practice on your own.

5. tatakata

tatakata Mezzo Forte User

May 29, 2007
    I disagree with you... you could buy a cheap Bach Strad Bb off of ebay and get a gem. Or buy a brand new Bach Strad off an online store and it could be a complete dog.

6. mrmusicnotes

mrmusicnotes Piano User

Nov 11, 2007
    N.Y.C.