What the composer/arranger wants...

Discussion in 'Jazz / Commercial' started by stewmuse, Dec 26, 2004.

1. stewmuse

stewmuse Pianissimo User

Apr 28, 2004
    NW Chicago
    ...is only partially relevant.

Many of you know that I am a writer (comp & arranging). As such, you might think that I am very much in the "play what's on the page camp." I am not.

How many of you REALLY only play what's on the page? Are all of the following always marked in your part in a clear and specific manner?
    1. dynamics - not just the starting pitch of a phrase, but each specific crescendo or decrescendo you might play over the course of the phrase;
    of course, exactly how loud is piano or forte?
    2. vibrato - speed, style, width, when to start or finish?
    3. sound - bright, dark, widening, thinning?
    4. articulation - does the front of a note "bounce" or is it "flat," exactly HOW short or long do you play each note
    5. pitch - esp. jazz, do you ever bend a note at all
    6. rhythm - exactly how does notate a laid-back feel?
    7. who's most important at each moment
    8. How fast or wide is that shake?

These are just the things that immediately popped into my head. There are many other specific questions and situations that come up regularly. Most of the answers to these are simply arrived at by PLAYING the song in the way that sounds best to you, your fellow musicians, and your director. There is rarely only one right answer.