What to do when you've been playing wrong for years.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by LLD, Oct 18, 2007.

1. LLD

LLD New Friend

Oct 18, 2007
    So, during my high school marching band sectional, my band director noticing that I occasionally puff my cheeks out. I say 'well, I've done it forever'
    "oh, well i've never seen you do it"
    "well I do it all the time"
    "well quit it... easy enough"

...problem is, its not so easy. I've been playing trumpet for 6 years and was never corrected. Besides that thinking about my cheeks all the time takes my mind off of the music and tone, making jumps between notes far apart on the staff or getting up to the high notes is very difficult and fatiguing (on both my cheeks and my embochure).

My question is, seeing as how I've been doing great without worrying about whether my cheeks are puffy (I made 1st chair for the district band and have a good shot at all-state), should I work hard to fix this?

Would it be too flattering to think if Louis armstrong could puff his cheeks, I can puff mine?

Also, seeing a few posts on here regarding 'smiling' to get high, is this the same thing as pulling the corners of my lips back? or is this the right way?

Thanks a bunch.

2. mbrantley2

mbrantley2 New Friend

Oct 18, 2007
    I have had a problem with my cheeks too, and I found that if I didn't puff my cheeks, my range was a whole lot better. My band director who plays trumpet told me to take a pencil and hold the end of it in your lips without using your teeth, just your chops. If you hold it for a minute or two you will feel it huurt and thats how you know youre gaining strentgh

3. LLD

LLD New Friend

Oct 18, 2007
    *holds pencil in mouth...*

(thanks for the reply)

4. Bear

Bear Forte User

Apr 30, 2004
    USA
    Oh man, this is a loaded one... since no one has offered anything yet, let me.