What's the best way to build both range and endurance?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by cdmproductions, Jun 27, 2013.

1. cdmproductions

cdmproductions New Friend

Jun 16, 2013
    I am really trying to increase my range and my endurance. What would the best way be?

2. Comeback

Comeback Forte User

Jun 22, 2011
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Welcome to TM! How old are you? How long have you been playing? Are you receiving trumpet instruction? If you give us a little more info, we may be able to be a little more helpful.
    Jim

3. cdmproductions

Jun 16, 2013
    I am a Junior in High school (15 yrs old). I've been playing trumpet for around six years without instruction

4. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    If you have the Arban's Method, great, if not you can download it at Method for the Cornet (Arban, Jean-Baptiste) - IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library: Free Public Domain Sheet Music

If you have the time to split your practice sessions up over the day, I would suggest the following for range: Pg 12 #9 repeat an octave higher. Pg 91, #1 repeat an octave higher. Pg 92, #2 repeat an octave higher. No cheating by starting an octave higher than written, please.

For endurance, the following: Pg 23 #1, #2, #3 and following, one after the other; play until quite tired but not exhausted. Rest. Pg 42 #16 and following, again, play until tired. The same starting on page 76 with chromatic scales. Then the same idea starting on pages 125, 155, 175.

If you are able to add a bit more each day, you should have good endurance and range at the end of summer. Us a mirror to make sure you aren't doing anything weird.

Have fun!

5. bach37

bach37 Pianissimo User

Dec 1, 2011
    Practice there is no silver bullet.

6. mchs3d

mchs3d Mezzo Forte User

Sep 30, 2005
    Provo, UT