When did Bach go wrong?

Discussion in 'Horns' started by bigaggietrumpet, Jan 27, 2005.

1. bigaggietrumpet

bigaggietrumpet Mezzo Forte User

Jan 23, 2004
    Nazareth, PA
    Ok, apparently today I'm just feeling controversial...

If you had to say when Bach really started to go downhill as far as quality and such are concerned, when would it be? 70's, 80's, 90's?

2. MUSICandCHARACTER

MUSICandCHARACTER Forte User

Jan 31, 2004
    Newburgh, Indiana
    The answer: Yes ROFL

Some say when Bach was purchased by Selmer.

I personally played some fine Strads in the mid 70s and they were sweet (and I was a broke college student). By the time the 80s rolled around, and I had a little more money, the Strads did not play as well.

I never had the "silky smooth" feeling from a horn like I did that 70s Strad until I played a Kanstul. Same kind of feeling. Now, I have never had the privilege of playing some elite horns: Edwards, Monette, Taylor, Eclipse, etc. so my comparison is a little narrow -- so take it for what it is worth.

Jim

3. bigaggietrumpet

bigaggietrumpet Mezzo Forte User

Jan 23, 2004
    Nazareth, PA
    Actually, yours lands right on the mark with my dad's experience. Back in his wild college days, he actually played trumpet in the stage band. Realize this too was back in the late 70's. At the time, he had an Ambassador, but somehow, the second valve was out of round, and he didn't know what to do to fix it (dropping it from the grandstands on a Friday night while oiling the valve probably didn't help). So the band director loaned him a two-tone Bach Strad. Anytime, and I mean ANYTIME, I mention Strad around our house, I hear the story about what a sweet horn that was, and how he wished he'd have practiced more, etc.

4. latinjazzcat

latinjazzcat Pianissimo User

Nov 5, 2003
    West Virginia