Where should I be?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by YTR-6335S, Mar 23, 2007.

1. YTR-6335S

YTR-6335S New Friend

Jul 3, 2006
    Dancing
    At the end of August I will have been playing trumpet for 5 years. I can play up to high C, and I have been told I have a great tone. I practice when I can for about 30 min to 1 hour. I don't have a private teacher but my band director plays trumpet and I have been trying to learn everything I can from him and everyone in the trumpet line. I am a freshman in high school and I'm 6th out of 13 trumpets.

Where should my level of playing be? How can I improve? I practice scales, cromatics, arpagios, lip slurs, tounging, and long tones. Does anyone have any advice?

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    5 years can be brand new or an eternity depending on the situation!
    After 5 years of playing, I would expect that you have been exposed to methods like Arban and Clarke. I would add Schlossberg to that.
    Let us know what solos that you have worked on. What particularly interests me, do you research your music before you play it? Do you google the composer to see what they were into?
    Knowledge is power - that is where you should be. If your head is screwed on right, the rest kind of sorts itself out!
    There is nothing wrong with a motivated band director giving you lessons. I have been out of school since the early 70's and my band director (and trumpet teacher) from back then still walks on water as far as I am concerned!

3. YTR-6335S

YTR-6335S New Friend

Jul 3, 2006
    Dancing
    The only method book I have is a blue book called "Rubank Intermediate Method" trumpet or cornet.

I haven't really reshearched the music I play all that much. The music that I play is pretty much just the music my band director has passed out.