which vintage trumpets should I look for?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by screamingmorris, Apr 5, 2007.

1. screamingmorris

screamingmorris Mezzo Forte User

Apr 4, 2007
    For a couple of months I have been observing trumpets for sale on eBay and in Craigslist then doing Internet searches for info about those trumpets.
    Which used trumpets under $500 are considered "too die for" that I should try if I ever get the chance to try one?
    For example, I have read about people who regretted selling their Olds Ambassadors and their Holton Galaxies and their Silver Flairs.

Keep in mind that I am a 51-year-old tone-deaf amateur who returned to trumpet playing 4 years ago after a 30-year hiatus, and the only playing I do is in my kitchen where I have great acoustics but no audience other than complaining next-door neighbors. :^)
    Nevertheless, I have enough of an ear that I can feel and hear the difference when I try a Getzen 300 and a Holton 602 and a Yamaha 2320 and a Bach 300.

Please specify brand and model, why you like its sound and feel, and how much such probably sells for used.
    If I ever see and get the opportunity to try the type of trumpet you recommend, I might just buy it if I have the money at the time (miracles do happen).

- morris

2. Richard Oliver

Richard Oliver Forte User

Jul 18, 2006
    Casper, WY
    Hi Morris, nice to see you here.

For under $500, my guess is the 22B crowd will weigh in.

My own vintage brand, the Selmers, cost a bit more. Mine ran $720 with shipping. If you can find a K-Modified or a Radial for around $500, it would be tough to not bid.

A Radial you well might snag for that price or less. I've read here that some have bought Radials for under $500 and are very happy!

My opinion of the student horns is that they are just that. I base it on my experience of playing them when they were new getting close to 30 years ago while working in a music store.

Good Luck,

Richard

Last edited: Apr 5, 2007