Wht is the difference between these two books?????

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by AndrewWK, Oct 6, 2004.

1. AndrewWK

AndrewWK Pianissimo User

Sep 9, 2004
    What is the difference beween...
    Physical Approach to Elementary Brass Playing
    Systematic Approach to Daily Practice for Trumpet

The titles help but what are the differences between them and how do i know which one to use? I am good all around. I have made region for 4 years in North Texas and am first in my district. I have a very usuable e-flat and a squirrelish f and a bad double g on very good days. I am first chair in my top band since I was a sophomore and can play most of the songs on the Carnavil cd (I LOVE "Grand Russian Fantasia"). I am looking for a book to help my chops, endurance, breathing, and range. I play on a 8335 Xeno with gold brass and play Shew 1.5 for marching/jazz and a 66MX for legit.

I was thinking on trying a chop book like BE or Claude Gordon. I am not sure if BE can be bought in a music store because buying stuff online does not sit well with my parents. I know the basics of each method and have ruled out Callet. I was looking for a book that does not require a specific teacher for the method. Just a trumpet book based on science and exerciese that build up the specific muscles.

Thanks for the help,
    AndrewWk

2. bigaggietrumpet

bigaggietrumpet Mezzo Forte User

Jan 23, 2004
    Nazareth, PA
    Just outta curiosity, where in North Texas are you?