Why can't I play any higher? advice

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by kcr09, Feb 23, 2009.

1. kcr09

kcr09 New Friend

Feb 11, 2009
    Minnesota
    So I started playing trumpet in 4th grade. I am now in 12th grade. Just recently my school got a new band teacher, who is a fantastic trumpet player, and he watched me play and told me I have a "round embouchure". Ever since he told me this, I have practiced everyday trying to play high and all I can get to is an A. I want to go to at least a high C because I'm working on a solo that requires it.

Anyway, if it helps, here's a little more info:
    I play on a 7C mouthpiece (should I try another one?)
    My trumpet is a Conn 22B (do I need a better horn?)

Any advice would be great. Is it my mouthpiece? My horn? My round embouchure?

2. camelbrass

camelbrass Mezzo Forte User

Nov 5, 2003
    Dubai, UAE
    What you really need is some time with a good trumpet teacher and then work hard on what he/she requires you to do. Ask your new band director if he can recommend somebody.

Regards,

Trevor

3. kcr09

kcr09 New Friend

Feb 11, 2009
    Minnesota
    Yes that would help, but I cant afford a personal teacher..

4. Rushtucky

Rushtucky Pianissimo User

Sep 15, 2008
    Indianapolis, Indiana