Why do we play trumpet or should I say why do I play trumpet

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by anthony, May 10, 2011.

1. anthony

anthony Mezzo Piano User

Mar 3, 2009
    why do we play ...I started playing again 2 years ago at 58 years old now at 60 all I get from friends and even my teacher who is a pro trumpet player is "your playing for fun not to make a buck .....so I guess I will never be a pro. but you know guys it kinda makes me sad ,I dont know why I still play or take lessons yes I enjoy playing but why? ........ sorry I dont mean to offend anyone ,Anthony:-(

Last edited: May 10, 2011
  2. mrsemman

mrsemman Piano User

Apr 8, 2010
    Massachusetts
    We play to make a difference in our lives.

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Motivation in life is a very individual thing. I judge my personal success on how many people in the audience go home happy - and are willing to come back and listen again.

One of the most critical parts of being a teacher, is helping your students to develop audiences. Happy birthday normally is a great way to introduce a struggling beginner to the joys of performing. If you are in tune to those around you, your audience will find you. That is when the magic happens.

4. kingtrumpet

kingtrumpet Utimate User

Sep 20, 2009
    New York State USA
    we play because if we don't --- THEN we would want to!!!!!

5. hichez

hichez Pianissimo User

Jul 13, 2009
    Whats wrong with playing for fun? There are probably hundred of hobbies that are not beneficial. Maybe later on in your trumpet playing life you will decide to get serious and you will strive for more. I doubt most of the people here weren't very serious in there trumpet playing early on.
    If you are confident in your ability it wouldn't hurt to join a community band or something like that so you atl east get accustomed to playing with an ensemble if you have no previous ensemble experience.

6. Peter McNeill