Why I am here?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by trumpetsplus, Sep 27, 2015.

1. trumpetsplus

trumpetsplus Fortissimo User

Jun 11, 2006
    South Salem, NY
    No, this thread is not existentialist (I didn't even know how to spell it!). This thread will hopefully describe why I spend time on this forum.

I am a past professional trumpet player who has noticed a marked decline in the ideals of Music making during my career. There is too much emphasis on the notes, and not enough about the music. This encourages robotic performance and musical voids. Recently at a regular lunchtime meeting, one major NY trumpet player expressed a similar view, quoting Bud Herseth as saying that (15 years before he retired) he would not pass the audition for the CSO job. There are students currently at Juilliard who do not recognize Bill Vacchiano's name. It is unlikely that there will be legends remembered about our current crop of great players in the way that we remember Bud Herseth, Bill Vacchiano, Manny Klein, Ernie Royal, Ray Crisara et al.

I currently play in a number of ensembles; professional, semi-amateur, and amateur; this being my attempt to bring back the Music. I work to foster recreational music making in general, and recreational trumpet playing in particular. To this end we have formed a not for profit charity. I will, in future, be directing my teaching and lecture efforts more overtly to this cause.

And, of course, I will continue to design and build trumpets, as well as repairing them.

Our charity is:
    The Recreational Musician
    Website
    www.recreationalmusician.com

barliman2001 and amzi like this.
  2. Sethoflagos

Sethoflagos Utimate User

Aug 7, 2013
    Lagos, Nigeria
    Would you say that this is just a US phenomenon, or is it a world-wide trend?

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Bravo!