WILD RIDE STOP #21 -- Cincinnati, OH

Discussion in 'Horns' started by swthiel, Sep 4, 2004.

1. swthiel

swthiel New Friend

Background. I first heard about the Wild Thing via the internet prior to my most recent comeback. Knowing that my old horn (a Bach Strad ML, 37 bell) could really stand an overhaul (since completed), I toyed with the idea of buying a Wild Thing. The considerations that stopped me at the time were the cost and the fact that I'd been coming back every year or so for a long time ... I was uncertain that this was the comeback that would stick. (Fortunately, this was the one that finally "took.") Almost a year into my comeback, I bought a Kanstul Chicago MLP and had the Bach overhauled.

I play mostly in church and combo settings, once in a while in a big band, although the big band playing is picking up. I'm not a professional player, but I do consider myself to be a serious amateur player.

My points of reference for this review are my current main Bb horns, the Bach Strad and the Kanstul Chicago. I use the Bach in "serious" settings and the Kanstul in combo/big band playing. I've had the Bach since it was brand new, so it really sets my expectations for the qualities of a "good" trumpet. I currently play on an early '70's Bach 5C mouthpiece, and I used it for all the play tests that I describe below.

I was able to use the horn at home, in a combo gig (keyboard, bass, drum, guitar, trumpet), and in a big band rehearsal. I only used the #1 slide. I wanted to record a couple of sound clips at home, but had some major technology problems that I couldn't resolve in time.

Now for the review ...