Wild Thing North Fort Worth, TX Stop.

Discussion in 'Horns' started by Dan Millheim, Dec 1, 2004.

1. Dan Millheim

Dan Millheim Pianissimo User

Sep 4, 2004
    Fort Worth ,TX
    First, I would like to thank Tom Turner, and of course, Flip Oaks for allowing me to "test drive" the Wild Thing Trumpet. You have been wonderful to work with and I appreciate the opportunity you gave me to live with this horn for five days!

My Review:

Personal Background: (Let me preface this section by writing that I include the following brief personal information because for many of us that have followed the tour we enjoy hearing about those who tested the horn and what they do as much as reading their impressions about the Wild Thing).

I am 43 and have been playing trumpet since the 4th grade. As a High School student I trained to be classical musician and had the privilege of working with some world class teachers including studies with Phil Smith of the NYPO - at the time I was his youngest student. Playing Trumpet payed for much of my college and graduate school via scholarships and gigs. In college I gave my life to Jesus Christ as well as my musical ambitions-trumpet playing was all consuming up to this point in my life. I thought this new focus and faith might mean giving up playing but instead it opened up an exciting career and new passion to use my music in full time vocational church music. For the last 19 years I have supported my family and served the Lord in three different churches as a full time pastor to artists. Presently, I serve as Worship Pastor at Harvest Church (www.theharvestchurch.org) and lead a worship and programing staff of six and together we are responsible for over 400 "artist types" that serve our church in the area of: Music, Art, Dance, Media, Sound, Lighting, Drama and other related artistic expressions. I am still an active trumpet player and, in addition to contemporary worship music, I love jazz music. This past August we did another jazz tou