Wisdom Teeth Removal

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by willens, Dec 5, 2010.

1. willens

willens New Friend

Jun 6, 2010
    Hello everyone,

Sorry I haven't posted so long; school started up a couple of months ago. So far I'm doing really well. I'm first chair in concert band, and I am playing lead in jazz band. I also recently made the second jazz trumpet chair in eastern district, and i'm a sophomore. I'm very worried now, because in 18 days, i am getting all four of my wisdom teeth pulled out. I've done some research on the web, and all sources say that I may have to take 2-3 WEEKS mandatory from the horn. This will have a lot of setbacks, because the actual district festival is on January 7 and 8, about two weeks after the operation. I'm getting the actual music tomorrow. another setback is that I got an all-state audition recommendation, and the audition is three weeks after the senior festival. I've already begun learning the music. One more set back is that our jazz band at school will be recording for the High School Ellington Festival on January 31. My band director wants me to play lead, but I don't think I'll be able to. I've already told him about my wisdom teeth having to be removed. So the main questions are:
    1) How long will it take me to recover? I'm 15 yrs old and I have an upstream embouchure. I'm also a relative healthy person who exercises regulary (if it makes a difference)
    2) Should I forfeit my chair in the District Festival, (even though it is a bit early to tell whether I'll have to), and request a lower chair?
    3) What will be the best way for me to either maintain my chops while I recover or once I'm able to play again, the fastest way for me to get back to where I was?

Thank you,
    Willens

2. kcmt01

kcmt01 Mezzo Forte User

Sep 25, 2009
    Polson, MT
    Reschedule the dentist until after the school year. Wisdom teeth removal is not an emergency procedure.

3. tpsiebs

tpsiebs Piano User

Feb 6, 2010