Wisdom Teeth Removal

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by DaTrump, Jun 12, 2012.

1. DaTrump

DaTrump Forte User

Oct 21, 2011
    Huntsville, Texas
    I had my wisdom teeth removed three weeks ago, and I had been playing a lot, more than I should have for the last two months anyway so I needed a week or two off. Well the surgery didn't go great, and I'm just now able to eat solid foods and start playing the trumpet. Here is where the problem lies, the doctor, when sewing up my face, disregarded my mouth structure beforehand and changed it significantly. I didn't think it would be an issue until I got back on the horn. I used to be very lazy when it came to trumpet; when there wasn't school, I didn't practice and I really don't lose much chop wise. However in these three weeks, as apposed to three months, feel like I have gone back years. My tone is completely different, I believe that it may sound better once I get chops back but even after three days its still static-like and not solid, like I am not using a good air support and am not sealing. The syllables that I know and love aren't playing the same, I'm getting a higher compression and didn't use the E syllable until High C. My lower register is not as big and fat as it used to be, not even close. I don't necessarily think this is just from three weeks off, I have a sneaky suspicion that its the change of my mouth shape. My question being, are these suspicions correct or am I just avoiding the real issue?

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    You will have to explain how the doc "ignored" your mouth structure and what is different. I mean, removing wisdom teeth can be a really big deal and the hole left over does need to be sewn up. The trauma can take a month or two to go away. Short of sewing your tongue to the upper lip, I don't know what the doc could have done wrong......