Wrong valve oil causing buildup?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by jdostie, Jul 7, 2009.

1. jdostie

jdostie Piano User

Feb 20, 2008
    So, I was having trouble with my valves and took my trumpet in. The technician said it needed ultrasonic cleaning, and they had to do something to get the "buildup" off the valves (did he say polish? I'm not sure). Now I bought the horn used, but it worked nicely when I got it, and have cleaned it regularly - but still ended up where the valves were getting worse.

He asked what oil I was using - blue juice - and said that "can be ok," but after it's cleaned he'll want me to use yamaha light synthetic valve oil. Also suggested that I use that on my pocket trumpet. I'd thought I was using a good quality oil . . .

The odd thing is, I have an olds ambassador that's circa 1970 that has never been professionally cleaned, and I've always used whatever valve oil was on hand.

Should I throw out all the blue-juice I have, or just not use it on my Benge and Jupiter Pocket? (In other words reserve it for the mellophone that so far seems to work ok with it)? Anyone else have problems with blue juice?

2. Bruin

Bruin Pianissimo User

Mar 21, 2008
    L.A.
    Do yourself a favor and try some Berp Bio Oil on your Ambassador. I own a '67 and this stuff works great on my horn -- better than the Bach, Zaja Blue, Ultra Pure, and Yamaha synthetic (regular) oils that I've tried. My 1st valve tended to get hung up a bit using these other oils. Not with the Berp Bio Oil. My valves now work great. You can buy it from Musical Enterprises Berps & Bags or BerpBioOil - Canola based valve oil - IMPROVED !

ewetho likes this.
  3. RUFocused

RUFocused Pianissimo User

Apr 26, 2009
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    I use blue juice on my benge, both conns, and both Olds, it works great.

4. DanZ_FL

DanZ_FL Pianissimo User

Jun 16, 2009
    Clearwater, Florida