Yet another "range extension" question.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by JPNSR, Jan 17, 2016.

1. JPNSR

JPNSR New Friend

Sep 13, 2014
    Ontario Canada
    Ladies and gentlemen,

I am a 69 year old amateur and play a Yamaha TR2330 with a Rudy Muck 17C mouthpiece.I have been playing for several years and have recently embarked on an effort to reduce mouthpiece pressure while playing. I ussually have 2 or 3, 30 minute practice sessions daily. My "comfort zone" is from C below the staff (C4) to D5. After about 6 - 10 minutes warming up (by playing major scales starting with C4) I can reach F5 or G5. On most days I can hit A5 and some rare days I can squeek out a momentary B5.

After being able to hit G5 I consider the warmup over and I then play songs for the rest of the session. When I play songs that call for a lot of notes just above my comfort zone (F5 and G5), I feel a lactic acid burn in my jaw approximately around the rear molars of my upper jaw. I assume this a requisite step in extending my range.

If I maximise my practice time playing songs that have a lot of notes above my comfort zone, I find fatigue and failure sets in quickly and I require a few minutes to recover. If on the other hand, I play songs that are in my comfort zone, I can play non stop for about 30-40 minutes with no more than about 5-10 seconds between songs (that last between 1 - 3 minutes).

Would anyone care to comment on how to alter my sessions with the aim of extending my range?

Thank you.

2. Ljazztrm

Ljazztrm Piano User

Nov 15, 2003
    Queens, NY
    Hey there friend. I would suggest you take the songs you play in your comfort zone, and devote one of your practice sessions to practicing them in the following manner: