Page 1 of 10 12345 ... LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Amateur considering teaching amateurs! in the General forums; Hello all, As you may, or more likely may not know, I am an English 14 year old, and like ...
    Piano User

Amateur considering teaching amateurs!

Hello all,
    As you may, or more likely may not know, I am an English 14 year old, and like all 14 year olds need more money, and like all English have an idea to do so.
    It is far from original, but I am thinking of teaching the trumpet to people that are not as good as me (logical eh?, so basically complete noobs.

So, here's the question, how should I go about doing so?

My plan was to put up a poster in the music department at school, and wait for the calls to roll in, but what from there? How much should I charge? Who am I? etc....

So, if anybody is out there with a head full of advice, please empty it on me like so much water.

Thanks.

Re: Amateur considering teaching amateurs!

I only advocate this when someone with true knowledge is monitoring it. Taking money with no credentials or previous investment is disgusting.

Whatever happened to selling lemonade.

The next point is why should I give you my stuff for free so that you probably not even understanding half of it, can ruin beginners.

Why don't you take up saxophone or something.

14 year olds don't need more money. They need more common sense AND humility.

In this matter, you make me sick!
    Whenever I feel blue, I start breathing again.

Mezzo Piano User

Well im an american 16 3/4 year old so yeah, if I were you id charge 10 bucks, over here people charge 15-20 bucks for a half hour lesson. Id say just introduce yourself as a player to teach beginning players. Because as the player get older (assuming your not super trumpet) they will switch to a profesional private lessons teacher. Thats my view, have fun with it. (im gonna try some english) Top of the day to you.

Mezzo Piano User