Trumpet Discussion Discuss Anyone have or have played a Yamaha YTR-8345S Xeno Trumpet? in the General forums; If so, do you recommend it?...
    Pianissimo User

Anyone have or have played a Yamaha YTR-8345S Xeno Trumpet?

If so, do you recommend it?

Fortissimo User
    I tried one for about 1/2 hour one evening. I think the way you perceive the playing characteristics will be (mostly) a function of your experience and what instrument you have been primarily playing on most recently.

In my case I had been playing a Schilke B1 for several months. I did not find the 8345 to my liking. HOWEVER, I know several other trumpet players in our Community band who really enjoyed it. They had been playing (and still do) Bach Strads. The gentleman who was trying out the Xeno for a week was looking for a jazz horn; he ended up buying a Schilke B42L. He did, however, indicate (and so did the other four members of the semi-pro brass quintent he leads) that he found the Xeno more "in tune" than his Bach.

I guess the best advice is for you to just go and try one (or two or three) and decide for yourself!

Pianissimo User
    Tootsall,
    Thanks for your reply. My recent playing experience has been with a new "Benge" (didn't like it), and a Getzen (wasn't the most thrilling of horns). I'll try a few Yamaha Xeno models tomorrow.

I'm itching to get back to playing.

New Friend
    My Xeno 8345S story................