Trumpet Discussion Discuss Articulation Conundrum/Focal Dystonia? in the General forums; Hello, I am actually a french horn player that is requesting a little bit of advice. I was speaking with ...
    New Friend

Articulation Conundrum/Focal Dystonia?

I am actually a french horn player that is requesting a little bit of advice. I was speaking with a former french horn teacher of mine and she had been discussing some of what I was going through with her husband who recommended that I ask for some advice here on this website. He is a trumpet player who is a member of this forum. He suggested I ask Rowuk for advice since he knew that he has a lot of experience with articulation and breathing and that if anyone knew what was going on with me he thought it would be him.

A little bit of background about me. I have been playing french horn for 9 years and just graduated from the Boston Conservatory and am very serious about making music my career. Within the the last year I have developed a very serious issue with my playing. I have been having a nearly impossible time articulating the first note in phrases. I would breath in and as I would exhale my tongue would go to the right place for the articulation but instead of releasing it would get stuck and trap the air inside my body. If I was able to release the air it was usually a good articulation but was generally delayed and sounded after I initially intended it to. After I had gotten passed the initial attack and the air was flowing I was able to articulate all of the other notes in the phrase. This was becoming very troublesome as I was becoming more and more responsible for producing professional level quality music in many situations. I became very well versed in "breath attacks" and was able to hide my articulation hangup to most of my colleagues, but I knew that this was just a temporary solution and felt really guilty about just getting by. This hangup started about a year ago and progressively became worse to