Trumpet Discussion Discuss Audition Piece in the General forums; Okay im only a sophomore in high school and i was just wondering what would be a good auditioning piece ...
    New Friend

Audition Piece

Okay im only a sophomore in high school and i was just wondering what would be a good auditioning piece for college any good ideas?

Forte User

Re: Audition Piece

There are many great audition pieces but it depends on your level of playing. I would say if you do not have a private teacher then you need to find an excellent one explaining to him your goals.

Piano User

Concert Etude by Alexander Goedicke.
    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AwRV2FyNvLM]YouTube - Goedicke Concert Etude for Trumpet and Piano[/ame]

It is a fast paced piece, with LOTS of double tonging. I have a couple versions of it, my favorite is from IMC edited by Robert Nagel for C trumpet.
    1952 Olds Studio Bb
    1949 Olds Super Bb
    1950 Olds Ambassador Bb
    2007 Jupiter Tribune Bb
    1995 Conn 86B C
    2000 Getzen Eterna Flugelhorn

The best pieces are the ones that showcase your talents. The worst ones are those not properly prepared. Really digging in to a new piece should not take more than 6 months. Look and see where your playing is a year from now, then decide!

Remember that your basic all round talents are what makes you desirable. If you do not have a balanced routine, it would be time to work this out with your teacher!
    Whenever I feel blue, I start breathing again.

Forte User

Hi trumpetaddict,
    A good audition piece should show that you possess proper technical ability.
    Along with that, you must be able to bring the piece to life. Let's face it. When you open up the sheet music, its just dead notes. Only you can bring it to life.
    What's a good audition piece for you? That's a tough one. It depends on your skills level. Don't go into an audition with a piece that's still a work in progress. You need to have your audition down cold.