Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Beginners' starting range. in the General forums; This is probably a dumb idea but I've been to classes with Wayne Bergeron and James Morrison recently and based ...
    Pianissimo User

Beginners' starting range.

This is probably a dumb idea but I've been to classes with Wayne Bergeron and James Morrison recently and based on things they said have been wondering about how we start, where our base set up is. I'm an amateur, a comeback player playing for a hobby so I'm more than happy to be put in my place by those in the know so here is my idea...I and most everybody that I've spoken to about this was taught from an initial base range of bottom C-G which if we take as a desired target range bottom F# to G above high C requires the upward development of some 2 to 2 1/2 octaves. What is the received wisdom on starting at C on the stave and developing in both directions by 1 1/2 octaves ? Wouldn't it make the extremes of range seem more attainable, especially as there would (hopefully) be equal emphasis on both high and low range? OK, maybe that last bit is a bit naive but what are your thoughts? I often use a mixture of Vizzutti exercises and Hanon Virtuoso Pianist exercises taking them through the keys without resetting my chops (breathing through my nose) and after an octave or so (if I start on a bottom G) I can really feel it but this last week I've played a C on the stave first and then played the exercises without resetting and have felt much fresher and have been able to go around a fourth higher.

OK, the blindfold is on, do your worst...ready...take aim...b...!!!!

MH
    Bach Strad A190 LR43 Bronze bell
    Olds Custom Eb/D trumpet
    Olds L-12 flugel
    Olds Opera Premiere cornet
    Eclipse flugel

Re: Beginners' starting range.