Trumpet Discussion Discuss Beginning tips for Clarinet player in the General forums; Hello everybody! I spare you the autobiography, but I've been playing clarinet for 6 years, and I'm currently in 10th ...
    New Friend

Beginning tips for Clarinet player

Hello everybody!

I spare you the autobiography, but I've been playing clarinet for 6 years, and I'm currently in 10th grade. I would consider myself pretty good, I've gotten into a bunch of honors bands, including all state (New York), and I'm third chair in the highest level band in the school (which also has Juniors and Seniors).

Anyways, I recently, on a whim, decided to purchase a trumpet because I love how they sound and wanted to get at least a basic understanding of playing brass instruments, because I'm considering being a music major in college. It is an Olds Ambassador Trumpet, and it works great (I think: all the valves and slides move well, though it has a few very small dents and the lacquer is, for all intents and purposes, gone). It was fairly inexpensive, also (under $100).

I need some tips on playing this instrument! I have been trying to learn using some online sources (such as this site [it appears as though it's for younger people, but whatever] and ExpertVillage, which has a couple videos on playing the trumpet).

I haven't gotten very far, though, because it is a little discouraging to really be bad at something... but I keep persevering, hoping one day I'll be halfway decent. I have plenty of time to spend playing the trumpet, so practice time isn't really a concern, it's just that I'm not sure if I'm playing correctly.

So general tips would be appreciated! Also, a slightly more focused question about embouchure. Particularly, when making the buzzing, I heard from one source you should only buzz with the top lip. Is this true?