Trumpet Discussion Discuss Bluff jobs in the General forums; Reading another thread got me thinking about another topic, any of you have any stories of bluffing while playing the ...
    Palos Park, IL

Bluff jobs

Reading another thread got me thinking about another topic, any of you have any stories of bluffing while playing the horn or else-wise? I'm not a seasoned pro, and definately not compared to others here, but I'll share a few of my bluff jobs: great, not so great, and failures.

Greatest: This isn't related to the trumpet, but one time I was singing in a band for a battle of the bands competition, and I did the worst thing a singer could do, forget my own lyrics to a song I wrote! What ended up happening was I freestyled the rest of the lyrics and directed a ton of solo breaks. The song went nothing like planned, but we pulled through as a band and the song got the loudest cheers of the night. On another tangent, the winner ended up being decided bureaucratically, but that's another story.

Not so great: This was during a large mass at a Catholic church in front of a bishop. Not only was I horrible that night, but noticeably horrible. No matter what I did, every other note was a fluff job, and I received plenty of sour looks from church goers. I tried to shrug it off, but the verdict was in. This is one of the times that I should have thrown in the white towel if such an act was permissible on the job. Thankfully, the music director at the church realized that it was a case of a bad day on the worst possible day.

Could have used it: One time, I was asked to sit in with a big band. I was playing the fourth book on a live setting, and we were playing a very fast bebop tune, and I had anticipated it being four pages long when in fact it was seven. Suddenly, I was lost right in the middle of the performance. This was one of the times I could have used that ol' black[jack] magic.