Trumpet Discussion Discuss Buzzing problem in the General forums; When I play it sounds like more air is going through my horn than actual sound. I don't think it's ...
    New Friend

Buzzing problem

When I play it sounds like more air is going through my horn than actual sound. I don't think it's leaking so I must be doing something wrong. I took a 3 week vacation at the end of summer and when I came back to school I was double buzzing pretty badly; the only way I could get it to stop was to spread my teeth very far apart and lower my jaw a lot. Now I'm pretty much flat all the time, I have this horrible tone, and now I can't remember how my old way felt(I've been playing this way for over 4 months now). think this has made my aperture larger and if I try to make it smaller I just double buzz a lot. What the heck should I do(My teacher was the one who told me to get rid of the double buzz by spreading my mouth, and now he really doesn't care as long as the double buzz is gone)

Re: Buzzing problem

let's back up a bit. The key to success anywhere in life is to get back to basics.
    Do a breathing check: inhale deeply then exhale, your shoulders should not go up or down. I think of breathing as a circle, the left side going up is inhale and the right exhale. Notice at the top and bottom of the circle that everything stays smooth: your transition from in to exhale should be the same way. Once that breathing works, we replace exhale with play. Don't spread your mouth, a good place to start is to say the letter M, then put the mouthpiece on your face, then blow (no tonguing). It doesn't matter what tone comes out. Play until you run out of air then fill up and start again - remember that circle of breath!