Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Can't stop slurring!!! in the General forums; When i play i slur. Almost all of the time. It just feels more natural flowing out of me and ...
    Pianissimo User
    San Francisco

Can't stop slurring!!!

When i play i slur. Almost all of the time. It just feels more natural flowing out of me and easier. If i'm learning a new song i will always slur through it at first. Im still a novice but will this be seriously detrimental to my development later on?

(I don't play in a band or have I ever had a teacher)

Fortissimo User
    Greenfield WI

Re: Can't stop slurring!!!

Not necessarily. For example, there are some exercises in the front of Arban, they're actually more difficult to play slurring.

But you should really practice all articulations regardless of your favorites.

tobylou8 likes this.

Buescher Lightweight 400
    Other Buescher horns 1939--1955
    Al Cass 1-28 mouthpiece
    Humes and Berg mutes

Pianissimo User
    San Francisco

Funny! Its going through the first arbans excercises right now, that i am doing! Slurring helps me play it so much that i can start to get the melody, then learn it. I dont have anyone to play it for me to hear it first. Thanks.

Are you slurring your notes or are you slurring your words? Because, you know, that could be a whole other issue ...

Trumpets are for extroverts - Lee Morgan

Santa Cruz County, CA

Articulation is vitally important in ensemble playing. If you aspire to play in groups you'll need to learn to articulate. I wish all brass players were required, at some point, to sing in a mixed choir. There's so much musicality to learn, in such a naked setting -- where there's no piece of plumbing between you and the music.

You could learn all the musicality stuff in a men's choir, or barbershop quartet, quite frankly, but I specified a mixed choir because they're good opportunities to meet women.