Trumpet Discussion Discuss Centering the Trumpet? in the General forums; I have a question and I wasn't sure if it would fit into any of the other forums, so here ...
    New Friend

Centering the Trumpet?

I have a question and I wasn't sure if it would fit into any of the other forums, so here it is.

I've been playing trumpet for about 6 years, and recently I've noticed that when I play my mouth piece is far off center, about 1/2 of the way between the center of my mouth and the right corner of my mouth. I know that this is incredibly limiting to me because my muscles on the different sides of my face grow at different paces. This limits my high note range as well as my stamina for when I'm playing.

In short, does anyone know any exercises or methods that I can use so that I can learn how to recenter my trumpet when I play?

Moderator Utimate User Solar Bell's Avatar
    Metro Detroit

Re: Centering the Trumpet?

Play where it is comfortable.

Many well known players play off center.

Nothing wrong with it.

It depends on your lip, face and teeth structure.
    Chuck Willard
    The Willard of Oz

"Don't be afraid to see what you see."
    Ronald Reagan

Greensboro, NC

It may or may not be a problem. Many very fine players play off center. Since you are concerned I would consult with a good teacher. At least they can tell you it's not a problem. In what way does it limit your range?
    Bob Grier, An Old Pro
    Web Cam trumpet & jazz improvisation lessons

Pianissimo User