Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Come back player embouchure question! in the General forums; Hello: Excuse me if I have entered the wrong thread, perhaps you guys could redirect me. This is my first ...
    New Friend

Re: What to practice after the dreaded embouchure change

Excuse me if I have entered the wrong thread, perhaps you guys could redirect me. This is my first post. I have a question about trying a new embouchure after a musical hiatus.

I am a 40 yr old guy who just got the urge to pick up my old trumpet after putting it aside FOR 17 YEARS!! . I started playing at 13 yrs old and played through college (I was in engineering, not music), taking lessons from our music director who had a background in military bands and old circus bands as well as municipal brass bands. I played 1st trumpet or cornet in pretty much everything in our symphonic bands, british brass band, baroque ensembles as well as some 2nd trumpet stuff in the our city's civic symphony. I occasionally had the opportunity to play with some really good musicians. I recall using the Arban book and the Clarke studies when I took lessons. Then.....I quit so I could do other things. I went into medicine and it has consumed alot of time. In hindsight, I really wish I hadn't stopped playing and now I would be at least as good as I was then. Now, I guess it has something to do with having kids and settling down that finally made me realize how important it is be able to play a musical instrument.