Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
Trumpet Discussion Discuss DIY Trumpet Teaching in the General forums; Hey all! I want to know how many here are attempting or have attempted, although I know it's not wise, ...
    Mezzo Forte User

DIY Trumpet Teaching

Hey all! I want to know how many here are attempting or have attempted, although I know it's not wise, self teaching trumpet? I ask because I have yet to find a trumpet teacher in my city and part of me has moments where frustration comes immediately when I pick up my horn, put it to my lips and attempt to blow and the best way I can describe my sound is like a bad speedboat motor. My sources of frustration are embouchure and attack (sounding "tu" as I am new to that by way of Clarke Elementary Studies). Part of me doesn't want to put down my trumpet until I find a teacher as finding one takes a lot of time only to pick it up when I finally find one and still be frustrated, and I'm not the "overnight success" type when it comes to learning music.
    Getzen 907S Eterna Proteus

"It's amazing what we can accomplish if we don't consciously get in the way" Adolph "Bud" Herseth

"Some days there won't be a song in your heart. Sing anyway." Emory Austin

Moderator Utimate User Vulgano Brother's Avatar
    Parts Unknown

Re: DIY Trumpet Teaching

Harold Mitchell's Trumpet Method provides all kinds of folksy advice, and Keith Johnson's The Art of Trumpet Playing and Phip Farkas' The Art of Brass Playing: A Treatise on the Formation and Use of the Brass Player's Embouchure provide all kinds of written instruction.

If you learn to really analyze what your various muscles are doing and can then describe what you are doing when you don't like the results, the folk here will be happy to act as an ersatz teacher.

Lots of good posts here to be found using the search function (although you can get real specific results if you use your favorite search engine, a multiple-word query in quotation marks and "".)

Have fun!