Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Does age play into playing by ear? in the General forums; Hey everyone. I have been playing for about 12 years now and I just graduated my degree in music. I ...
    Halifax, NS CANADA

Does age play into playing by ear?

Hey everyone.

I have been playing for about 12 years now and I just graduated my degree in music. I am 23 years old (some would still call that young but I am very serious about making a career out of my playing).

My question is this:
    I LOVE jazz. I got the feeling down and the style. However my improvising is a little weak. But staying away from 'jazz' in general, I was wondering if age played a role in playing by ear. Is playing by ear something I should have been doing at a younger trumpet age? If I were to attempt it now would I have more difficulty? I know that there would need to be some practice involved like anything. But could I get it eventually? I have a good ear and I can normally figure some easier stuff out when I listen to it and play it back a couple times. But when it comes to complex jazz licks, should I be able to comrehend them at some point or am I too old? (again some would say that 23 is young but I have been playing for 12 years and am very close to getting a profesisonal job).

Thanks and I look forward to your input and anecdotes

Eric Sproul
    Practice is like filling a leaky bucket

Bb: Paul Mauriat, Yamaha
    Flugel: Hub Van Laar ACK
    Mouthpieces: monette, yamaha

Utimate User
    I believe music is just like language and the earlier you learn to speak a language the more a part of your ability to communicate it becomes. I started improvising in jazz late in high school and have never really been any good at it when you compare it to real jazz musicians. I listened to expressive, classical transriptions of all types and that's what I do best, interpret classical styles from vocal to orchestral.