Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Embouchure Problem in the General forums; Hello, I am a high school student and I have been having some problems with my embouchure lately. I don't ...
    New Friend

Embouchure Problem

Hello, I am a high school student and I have been having some problems with my embouchure lately. I don't know why but when I tongue, my chin moves and I'm pretty sure it's not supposed to move. I don't know how to fix this and help would be VERY appreciated. Thank you

New Friend

Re: Embouchure Problem

Might I suggest that your breathing is the problem. It may be that you are breathing out by squeezing your lungs which will cause your neck and throught muscles to tighten, thus leading to the tension in your mouth-tongue movements.

Learn to use the force, Luke. No, sorry. Wrong advice. Learn to use your diaphram and stomach muscles to inhale and exhale. Look in the first few pages of a TuneA Day book and it does explain this quite well.

Hope this helps.

New Friend

Thank you. I will try that and hope it works.

Forte User

As for the chin moving? You have to make a conscious effort to quit this. Look in the mirror when you play. This habit is fairly easy to break. My daughter had this problem last summer and I asked her "why does it look like you're chewing gum when you're playing notes?" Of course she said "I don't know" We then worked in front of the mirror for a while and within a couple of days the nasty little habit was gone. It's an easy habit to break and remember, it shouldn't look like you're chewing gum while you're playing the trumpet.
    Here's what Carl Saunders sez about embouchures:

What is a good embouchure?
    So what is a natural embouchure? To me a natural embouchure is: