Trumpet Discussion Discuss Embrouchure damage from switching mouthpieces in the General forums; I have been playing on a bach 1c mouthpiece for over a year now, and then one day I decided ...
    Pianissimo User

Embrouchure damage from switching mouthpieces

I have been playing on a bach 1c mouthpiece for over a year now, and then one day I decided that maybe the higher notes would be easier to hit if I swtched to the Back 5c. I started playing on the Bach 5c for a few weeks after that. But then, I had a hard time with the 5c mouthpiece because the sound was always really small, so I decided to switch back.

But after switching back, my lips are always unstable and end up acting like loose rubber. I can barely hold a note steady for 3 seconds before my lips start flabbing around making the tone out of tune and unstable. Does anyone think that this problem will solve itself as the days pass?

Thanks

Pianissimo User

Re: Embrouchure damage from switching mouthpieces

I would say yes. But, in my humble opinion, the road to solving the problem is practicing a strong embouchure that will stand up behind a large cup like a 1C.

Early in HS, I got the "embouchure makeover" from my teacher, Delbert Dale, in Indianapolis. He was a taskmaster of epic proportions and was, in no way, going to go past week one of lessons without me getting rid of my dependence on the mouthpiece alone for my playing. Buzzing w/o mouthpiece was encouraged and done in lessons early on. He pushed for a 60% upper lip -- although I think he only did that hoping you'd get at 50% to 40% and away from 30%.