Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Female trumpet players in the General forums; I just heard Alison Balsom play the Haydn. Very fine player indeed!!! I have played & listened since 1940, and ...
    Pianissimo User

Female trumpet players

I just heard Alison Balsom play the Haydn. Very fine player indeed!!! I have played & listened since 1940, and I notice far more really competent female players. Is this just a matter of there being more Policewomen as well. I shouldn't think that there is anything physically holding women back such as lung capacity. what say??? esp you teachers??!! Jim Miller

Norfolk, VA

Re: Female trumpet players

You're a little late on this one - listen to Laurie Frink, Leisel Whittaker, Ingrid Jenson, or DIVA, and see if you hear a difference between men and women. Ingrid is one of the artists in residence on the site - maybe you want to ask her. I've been playing for 26 yrs, and have the same abilities and pitfalls as any other player. I weigh about 120lbs, but can easily hold my own with a 250+ male player. It's all about training and efficiency!
    Adams A1, satin gold lacquer, 0.55 (and it's twin in clear lacquer)
    Adams F2, gold brass bell 0.55
    Yamaha 8335LA (Navy horn)
    Adams ACB Prologue
    Conn 112B
    NY Bach Mercury
    50's Calicchio
    Marcienkewicz Rembrandt flugel (for sale! Contact Trent Austin for details)
    Schilke P5-4
    French Besson Classic C
    Yamaha 761 Eb/D
    Weril Regium Eb/D (for sale soon)
    vintage Benge pocket trumpet
    Austin Custom Brass mouthpieces

More news to come!

Forte User

Maybe they practise smarter than men?

Artist in Residence
    Forte User

The musical landscape is filled with excellent female trumpeters. There's really no story here.

[ame=]YouTube - Tine Thing Helseth: Haydn Trumpet Concerto, 3rd mvt[/ame]

Celebrating my post no 400!
    Last edited by nordlandstrompet; 11-04-2008 at 01:38 PM.