Trumpet Discussion Discuss the floating jaw in the General forums; just an interesting article by david hickman my friend gave to me so i thought i would share: Good players ...
    Pianissimo User

the floating jaw

just an interesting article by david hickman my friend gave to me so i thought i would share:

Good players don't really think about their chops when playing music because they are concentrating on the SOUND and MUSICAL DIRECTION of what they are producing.
    Good teachers can think about chops when NOT playing, but often (hopefully!) turn off the chops switch in their brain when playing the horn because they then need to concentrate on the music.
    I studied for a while with Herseth, Voisin, and Ghitalla. Each knew quite a bit about chops but seldom talked about it. Whenever i asked questions concerning mouthpieces, chops, chops exercises and approaches, etc., I was always surprised by how
    much they knew! I sometimes wondered why they didn't say more about these things unless pressed to do so. I think it is because the music comes first and these chop-type things don't need to come up unless problems are preventing the player from
    expressing themselves on the horn like they are intending.
    There are so many types of embouchures and development systems that it seems endless. Maybe it is! Here are a few main factors the way I see it:
    1. Length of top lip vs. length of upper front teeth - This will have a huge effect on mouthpiece placement.
    2. Straightness of front teeth (upper and lower) - This will have a huge impact on angle of the horn up/down and sideways.
    3. Teeth occlusion - If there is an overbite of a quarter inch or more (like 90% of the people), the lower jaw will need to be thrusted forward a bit in order for the front teeth to be fairly well aligned. This will allow the bell angle to be
    reasonably horizontal and will provide (usually) the best lips alignment for a brilliant, resilient buzz.