Trumpet Discussion Discuss Focusing tone on a piccolo trumpet in the General forums; Hi. I'm new to the piccolo trumpet. I just tried one a few days ago and have a very hard ...

Focusing tone on a piccolo trumpet

Hi. I'm new to the piccolo trumpet. I just tried one a few days ago and have a very hard time focusing my embrochure on the instrument, even when using my regular trumpet mouthpiece on the converter leadpipe. A lot of air was leaking, even at the low C and D on the picc. And i had trouble getting up to the high A and B that i can consistently hit on a larger trumpet.

Does my embrochure need to be tighter, or is it a problem of air control?
    "If you're not improving, you're falling behind." - My Trumpet Teacher, Steve
    Bach Strad 37 - Wedge 3C w/ L backbore
    Bach TR300
    Conn Director Cornet
    Olds Ambassador Fullerton Trombone - Bach 6-1/2 C

Bostonish & San Francisco

Re: Focusing tone on a piccolo trumpet

Try playing simple stuff, like scales first (if you aren't already)
    It may be just a case of getting used to playing on the piccolo.
    Also, if you're tonguing, its going to have to be a little short and more deliberate than you're used to, you can't hit "close enough" on a piccolo (i'm not saying you necessarily do but that definitely helped me...)
    Bb: Courtois 305 "Elite", Holton Al Hirt Special (~1966), Benge 3x with Upturned bell (1973)
    C: Bach C180-239 (Akwright conversion),
    Cornet: Conn Wonder (1900)
    Picc: Selmer Paris, ~1971

Grand Island, NE

One thing that is really important when playing piccolo trumpet (or any trumpet, for that matter) is to have a really well developed sound concept in your head as you play. Be sure to listen to a lot of piccolo players that you like, so you really know how the thing is supposed to sound.